Not a chapter

Writing fiction that attaches even obliquely to us here in the real world has it’s attractions, but it also has it’s drawbacks.

I let my personal politics express themselves a bit too much.  I pulled the story back inline a bit.  The story itself didn’t change much at all, but connectivity to the real world has been reduced, and things have been better explained internally in three chapters with problems.

I can’t touch even tangentially on modern politics without the risk of offending people.  The US won’t stay in it’s current condition for long (in story).  Either internal or external forces will force a different path soon.  I won’t say which, because I’m still thinking about it, and how opposing forces will resolve themselves.

6 comments

  1. Lurker

    Your story your rules. I personally liked it very much. The US as it is a shitty fraud of corrupt psicopath military/politicians/corporations while the citizens are fucked in the ass and tossed away.

    • farmerbob1

      My story, my rules, yes, but at the same time I am writing the story to have fun, not to start fights. That doesn’t stop me from doing what I want to do, but if I can do it while distancing myself from real world stuff, that’s for the best. It won’t be much longer before I’m past the point where I’ll have to worry about direct association with current day stuff. I’m planning on moving a few years forward before settling in. This is still world building. Setting up relationships, building history, etc.

      • Sleethr

        While I found your take on America’s response to the Symbiotes personally alarming, I also found it plausible. Sadly, very plausible in light of “our” past transgressions ( Japanese internment camps during WWII and McCarthy’s Communist witch hunt ) as well as our Post 9/11 & NSA surveillance state because when fear fails to motivate the public to accept their lot in life, they can always be motivated by “think of the children” and what else would a parent fear more that having some alien creature take over their child?

        Personally, I would have liked to see the U.S. as the friendly to Symbiotes with the rest of the world against, but that is just my fear and national pride talking.

        Keep on writing your very interesting story.

Leave a comment